This week’s new music on Simon Shaw’s Discover Teesside Spotify playlist includes tracks from Nice Guy and Andrew Johnson.

Featured track: Shame/Teesside, Nice Guy

Teesside alt/indie five-piece, Nice Guy, bring their new single SHAME a meaningful social observation in an indie retro package.  

Vocalist and song writer, Michael McCluskey, says about this epic song, “Compelled by recent events and the rising violence towards women, I decided to put the band’s feelings into this song, shining a spotlight on how if you see it and say nothing, you’re giving it permission to happen and should be ashamed.”

Nice Guy were formed in 2018 by current members Matt Bowen and Michael McCluskey as a four piece band playing gigs locally in the Teesside area. Shortly after, the band were joined by bassist Chris Pittam and former Guitarist Kev Pickering. It was as this four piece that the band recorded and released their first single, Fake Leather, with local Middlesbrough label, Goosed Records. It was through this link that the band added keyboard player and (now former) Director of Goosed Records, Patrick Oliver. The band however, were not able to come together due to the onset of the global pandemic and lockdown.

The band were finally able to get together during the summer of 2020, recording their next two singles and releasing them through the label (the final releases with Goosed Records) and playing their first gigs as a five piece locally. This was followed by further restrictions due to the pandemic which led to the departure of guitarist Kev Pickering and his replacement with Josh Atkinson. With new material, interest garnered through single releases and an emerging social media presence, the band gained slots on high profile gigs like ‘Songs From Northern Britain’ and a support slot alongside Avalanche Party at the famous Westgarth Social Club.

The new single, Shame, is out now.

Find out more:





Listen to the full Discover Teesside playlist on Spotify here